A StorageOS cluster can scale horizontally by adding more nodes to a cluster, or vertically by adding more storage to individual nodes in a cluster.
To add a node to an existing cluster, run the StorageOS container with
set to the IP addresses of one or more existing nodes, or to the load-balancer
address for the StorageOS service.
It is possible to use different disks or partitions to expand StorageOS’
available space. StorageOS will look for filesystems within
/var/lib/storageos/data for data storage. If it doesn’t exist,
/var/lib/storageos/data/dev1 will be created on the same device as
However, it is possible to shard the data files by creating more directories.
StorageOS will save data in any directory that follows the name
functionality enables operators to mount different devices into devX directories
and StorageOS will recognise them as available storage automatically.
Devices do not need to be the same size. When a new device is added, writes will favour the new device until utilization is consistent across all devices.
Before rebooting or upgrading a node, you should put the node in maintenance mode by draining the node. This will reschedule volumes to other nodes and mark the node as unschedulable.
If the volume does not have replicas, a new replica will be created on a different node and promoted to master. The previous master will be removed.
If the volume has replicas, one will be promoted to master. The previous master will become a replica and be relocated to a different node.
If there are not enough available nodes, StorageOS will keep trying to evict all volumes while the node is in the drained state. Once a new node is added to the cluster, the volume will be moved automatically.
Performing a node drain will not remove the StorageOS mounts living in that node. Any volume mounted in that specific node will be evicted but still hold the StorageOS mount making the data transparently available to the client, with zero downtime.
Warning: It is currently not possible for a node to leave the cluster *completely. If the StorageOS container is stopped and/or removed from a node *then the node will be detected as failed and it will be marked offline, but *there is no way to remove the node from the list. The next release will provide *functionality to cleanly remove a node.
Before upgrading, check the release notes to confirm whether there is a safe upgrade path between versions.
Upgrades can be performed by restarting the StorageOS node container with the new version.